Muster Mark’s Quarks


Three quarks for Muster Mark! Sure he hasn’t got much of a bark And sure any he has it’s all beside the mark. But O, Wreneagle Almighty, wouldn’t un be a sky of a lark To see that old buzzard whooping about uns shirt in the dark And he hunting round for uns speckled trousers around by Palmerstown Park?

Hohohoho, moulty Mark! You’re the rummest old rooster ever flopped out of a Noah’s ark And you think you’re cock of the wark. Fowls, up! Tristy’s the spry young spark That’ll tread her and wed her and bed her and red her Without ever winking the tail of a feather And that’s how that chap’s going to make his money and mark!

— James Joyce, Finnegan’s Wake

Muster Mark’s Quarks consists of three very short movements for string orchestra, each movement built up of tiny, fundamental objects: musical quarks. The title comes from James Joyce’s Finnegan’s Wake, as does the name of the fundamental particle, the quark.

1. Allegro - Vivo - Tempo I - Tempo II - Tempo I 2. Lento 3. Vivace


5 minutes


Strings (recommended at least

First performance

Oxford Philomusica / Marios Papadopoulos, 16 June 2006, Sheldonian Theatre, Oxford

Request a score / parts

If you would like to see a score and/or require a set of parts for this music, please contact me.

Score preview

Current page: 1 of

Loading PDF…